On the Road – I dug it a lot

Image

 

The very first time I saw this quote:

“The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.” 

I thought to myself…I want to be the type of person who would say this. I loved that it acknowledged how boring and commonplace most peoples conversations are. But it wasn’t years later that I would read On the Road by Jack Kerouac.

I’d heard more about it than I wanted to before I read it. I don’t like having preconceived notions of books before I start reading. And this book, I let settle in my mind for months before I wanted to write about it.

I thought, well this book was good. I wonder what other kind of roadtrip books there are about America? And I blanked, realizing that I had probably just read the best one out there.

On the Road is good for people who are seeking something raw and polished and unpolished. It threw me into a world that I longed to be a part of–cars, the road, the people, the starvation, the jubilant emotions. There are parts of the book that reminded me of Heart of Darkness. You can almost feel the sweat dripping off the book.

There’s not much more to say about this book. It is pure awesome.

Leave a Reply

